Chapter 4: Business & Administration
04:58:00 Traffic and Parking Regulations
The following regulations are established and are applicable to all students, faculty, staff, and visitors on the Northeast State campus. Staff and faculty shall obey them as a condition of employment. The purpose of these regulations is to facilitate the safe and orderly conduct of college business and to provide parking facilities in support of this function within the limits of available space. The Northeast State Police Department (hereafter Campus Police) is required to implement and enforce these regulations.
- The college shall have no responsibility for loss or damage to any vehicle or its contents operated or parked on the campus. All personnel parking vehicles on the campus are reminded they should remove the keys from the vehicle, lock the doors, and not leave valuables exposed in the car.
- Pedestrian traffic has right-of-way on campus. Students, staff, and faculty members must not endanger their safety or constitute an unreasonable impediment to lawful vehicular traffic by crossing streets at other than authorized lanes or by willfully walking or congregating in the streets. Pedestrians are encouraged to use walks and observe traffic signs.
- The use of bicycles, which require no registration, is encouraged on campus. However, the use of skateboards is not permitted on any campus.
- Vehicles are not to be parked at any time in loading areas, in parking area entrances or so as to block roadways, fire lanes, or the movement of any other vehicle, on sidewalks or campus lawns, within 15 feet of a fire hydrant, or other places with signs designating parking restrictions. (See policy 03:10:02 Parking Zones for further information regarding Parking)
- Vehicles parking in restricted areas or reserved parking may be ticketed and/or towed at the owner’s expense at the discretion of the Campus Police.
- The speed limit on campus streets is 15-MPH. The speed limit in all parking lots is 10 MPH. The speed limit inside the parking garage is 5 MPH.
- Passing on campus streets is prohibited.
- All vehicles must come to a complete stop at intersections where stop signs are located, painted on streets, or mounted on posts.
- Motorists must yield right-of-way to pedestrians.
- Vehicles must pull over, come to a complete stop, and yield right-of-way to all emergency vehicles with flashing lights.
- All State of Tennessee Motor Vehicle Laws are applicable on the Northeast State campus 24 hours a day.
- Operating a motor vehicle in any area other than a street or roadway intended for motor vehicles is prohibited.
- All accidents must be reported to Campus Police immediately. Written reports will be made by this office.
Motor Vehicle Registration
- All motor vehicles used on campus must meet the registration requirements of the State of Tennessee. The Tennessee Board of Regents requires that such vehicles also be registered with the College. The annual registration period begins with the fall semester of each year and extends through the following summer semester. A hangtag is issued which must be clearly displayed on the rear view mirror of the vehicle registered.
- Registration information for an individual parking on campus include the name, address, and identification number of the registrant of the vehicle.
- Staff hangtags are obtained from Campus Police. The institution will issue one hangtag to each student and employee at a charge set by the college administration. One additional hangtag may be purchased by an individual for an additional fee.
- Temporary parking permits are available for use on vehicles temporarily used in place of registered vehicles. Visitor parking permits are available for transient visitors. These permits are available through Campus Police. Electronic visitor parking passes are also available, on a limited basis, via specified campus offices. A definition of a visitor is a person not connected with the College who occasionally has business or other legitimate reasons to be on campus. Visitor spaces are provided and designated by appropriate signs.
- Anyone trading or selling an automobile with a Northeast State hang tag will be responsible for removing the hang tag and notifying Campus Police of the transfer. All violations against an old or previously issued hangtag will be charged to whom it was originally issued.
- Lost, stolen, illegible and damaged hangtags must be reported to Campus Police and replaced immediately at the expense of the individual who is responsible for the tag.
- The acceptance of a parking hangtag by any person shall constitute the acceptance of the responsibility to ensure that no vehicle owned or registered in his or her name is parked or operated in violation of these regulations.
Enforcement and Payment of Citations
The Northeast State Police Department issues citations for violations of traffic and parking regulations where such are noted.
- The fine for parking and registration citations is $10-first citation, $15-second citation, $25-third citation, and $50-fourth and subsequent citations.
- The fine for a moving vehicle violation is $50.
- The fine for disabled parking violations is established by statute and will be adjusted and published as needed to remain in compliance with State law.
- Faculty or staff cited for five parking or two moving violations per academic year will be subject to disciplinary action in addition to the imposed fines. Said person may be restricted from parking on the campus. If the car is parked on campus during the restricted period, it will be removed from the campus at the owner’s expense.
Any vehicle receiving two violations for having no hangtag will be issued a warning card and could be removed from the campus at the owner’s expense upon further violation.
Back to Top
|Divisional Review Responsibilities Checklist: Administrative Services|
Revision History: May 2004, November 2005, April 2009, July 2013, July 2015, June 2016